Neil Siskind’s Poetry

As the 46th anniversary of my birth approaches, I wrote this poem of reflection:

 

Not Quite Yet
by Neil Siskind

 

It’s not quite cold
no, not quite yet
I’m not quite old
no, not quite yet
the winter air-
it’s getting there-
it’s getting there

It’s not tomorrow
no, not quite yet
my time is borrowed
no, not quite yet
I sit and stare-
I’m getting there-
I’m getting there

The leaves are browning
no, not quite yet
the grass is drowning
no, not quite yet
the path’s to where? –
It’s my affair-
it’s my affair

A year I’ve aged
no, not quite yet
I’ve disengaged
no, not quite yet
for all I care-
I still prepare
indeed- I still prepare

Leave a Reply

